Latest News


Inspector General of Police Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Dr. Muhammad Naeem Khan presiding over DPOs Conference regarding Muharram security arrangements.
The Inspector General of Police Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Dr. Muhammad Naeem Khan has directed districts’ heads to maintain an enviable peace during Muharram-ul-Haram by adopting comprehensive strategy coupled with stringent security measures.
These directives were issued to the District Police Officers by the Inspector General of Police while chairing Muharram Conference. All concerned DPOs briefed the Police Chief with the help of Google maps and charts about the security plan for Muharram in their respective districts. The police chief pointed out that maintenance of peace and tranquility was the prime responsibility of Police and no loopholes will be allowed in the security arrangements and directed the participants to place an effective and enviable security measures for sectarian harmony and religious brotherhood during Muharram. The DPOs were directed to review the security arrangements themselves by visiting the spots in uniform and conduct snap checking across the province with special emphasis on motorcycles without number plates. They were also directed for Hot Spots Policing and deployment on hill tops and roof tops in sensitive areas and plugging all inlets and outlets leading to Imam Bargahs and processions routes and make emergency plan for every procession.
They were also directed to call all the volunteers, get their cell numbers and brief them about their nature of duty. Police High Ups were informed to hold meeting with all stake holders and ensure their part of job done for Muharram. The Police Chief made it clear that security arrangements adopted for Muharram will be checked through different teams and in case of any lapses concerned DPOs will be held responsible.
Earlier, the IGP was briefed about the security plan adopted for peaceful observance of Muharram in different districts of the province i.e. Peshawar, Nowshera, Mardan , Haripur, Mansehra, Abbottabad, Kohat, Hangu, Kurram, Orakzai, Bannu, Lakki Marwat, DI Khan & Tank.