Latest News


IGP awarded Quaid-e-Azam police medal police shuhadda
Hats off to the KP province and its police. IGP Nasir Khan Durrani

A ceremony was held at CPO Peshawar today in which the Inspector General of Police Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Nasir Khan Durrani conferred gallantry awards i.e Qauid-e-Azam police medals and president's police medals to 21 police officers and jawan in recognition of their meritorious services in line of duty in the ongoing war against terrorists on different occasion.

It may be recalled that the police department had recommended the names of various police officers and jawan in the year 2012-13 to the provincial govt for onward sending it to the federal govt for approval of the president who either sacrificed their precious lives in line of duty or got injuries in police action. The president of Pakistan had approved these awards and were long due to be conferred to them in a special ceremony. Addressing on the occasion the IGP Nasir Khan Durrani paid towering tributes to the unprecedented sacrifices of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa police in the war against terror by saying that Khyber Pakhtunkhwa police gallantry acts were matchless in the whole world and its jawan had added new chapter of bravery and valour to the rich history of the police and fought valiantly till the last drop of its blood against the terrorists. The IGP informed that without proper recognition of the sacrifices of police Shuhaddas and Ghazis the country cannot achieve the zenith of success added that the sacrifices of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa police are more while the medals are very limited. He, however, said that from now onward beside Federal govt medals the provincial govt would be approached with the request to also arrange medals at provincial level in recognition of the services of the police shuhadda. It merits mention that these police shuhaddas and Ghazis had sacrificed their lives and got injures in war against terror in various suicides and IED,s blasts, attacks on different police stations, police raids and encounters. The police shuhadda who were awarded posthumous Quid-e-Azam police medals, include SP Hilal Haider (Peshawar), DSP Khuhrshid Khan (Peshawar), Inspector Sattar Khan (Peshawar), Inspector Apeal Khan (Bannu), Sub Inspector Khushdil Khan (Mardan), Sub Inspector Imam Hussan ( Bannu), Sub Inspector Ismail Khan (Lakki Marwat) and Constables Sareer Khan (Peshawar), Bashir Khan (Bannu), Zia-ud-din (Bannu), Imran Ullah (Bannu) and Constable Muhammad Ismail (DIKhan) while injured constables conferred president's police medals include constables Aqif (Bannu), Waqar (Bannu), Azam Khan (DIkhan), Saad Ullah (DIKhan), Kashif (DIKhan), Qaiser Khan (DIKhan), Muhammad Hassan (DIKhan), Khalid Khan (DIKhan), and Zahid Ullah of Elite Force. The Shuhadda awards were received by their heirs.

Additional IGPs Special Branch, Operations, Investigation, Commandant Elite Force, Commandant FRP, CCPO, DIG Headquarters, DIG Enquiry and Inspection, AIG Establishment, SSP Traffic Peshawar, Principal Staff Officer to IGP, other high ranking police officers and heirs of shuhadda in large number attended the ceremony.